Deutschland Adler are the ELL 2014 Champions

Homepage / 2014 / Deutschland Adler are the ELL 2014 Champions


Deutschland Adler are the ELL 2014 Champions Deutschland Adler won the thrilling final game against Wolves 8:7 and became the ELL 2014 champions, Custodes finished 3rd after defeating Pietro Filipi.

Wolves matched Pietro Filipi in their semi-final. Coach Jiří Pechar nominated their second joker – Adam Kostka. Teams have agreed that there can be an exception for three players from each team from the play-off eligibility rule requiring participation in at least one basic tournament. Pietro Filipi were missing the English players, both burly offensive Rob Clark and reliable defender Ben Stothard. The first period was not very exciting. Expected Wolves‘ active offence have not appeared and the first goal was scored by Adam Kostka in 14th minute when he tricked goalie Curt Kinney from behind the goal. The Wolves woke up in the second period and overscored Pietro Filipi 5:0. The third quarted was timid again. Wolves allowed Pietro Filipi to score in the last second and the score stopped on 10:3.

More dramatic fight was expected in the second semi-final. Deutschland Adler used the mentioned rule exception for nominating Finnish players Jarno Aaltonen and Markus Mattila. Especially Aaltonen, two metres tall attackman and excellent shooter was a remarkable asset. He scored three goals and helped Adler to win 12:6. Both goalies, Dominik Sika from Custodes and Tomáš Čekal for Adler were excellent.

Custodes then won the third place game 13:7.

Deutschland Adler entered the final game better. Wolves seemed diffident and soon were loosing 0:3. Then Radek Skála proved his drive and scored and soon Wolves added another goal, but Adler answered before the end of the first period. Adler’s defence was solid and they guarded Wolves scorers closely. The Wolves were missing creative attacker Jiří Loskot. Both goalies deserve acclaim again. Deutschland Adler were in lead 6:3 at the end od period 2. Wolves started with big pressure in the third period and pulled the score to one goal difference 6:7. Double power-play then helped Deutschland Adler to catch the breath and Jarno Aaltonen scored. Adam Kostka answered in 13.13, but when Adler gain the ball possesion thirty second before the final whistle they were able to keep it to the end.

Deutchland Adler were more compact and more eager to win in the final game and the trophy returns to Germany after two years.

Final standings
1. Deutschland Adler
2. Wolves Radotín
3. Custodes
4. Pietro Filipi

The best defensive player: Adrian Balasch (PIF)
The best offensive player: Brian Tyacke (DEA)
The best transition player: Klaus Hauer (PIF)
The best goalie: Tomáš Čekal (DEA)
MVP according to points: Radek Skála (WOL, 68 p. for 56 goals and 12 assists)

Watch all games here.
Find stats here.


Author: Ondřej Mika   |   Section: 2014   |   Print   |   Send article to friend

RSS channel  |  XML Sitemap  |  Sitemap  |  Content Management System WebRedakce - NETservis s.r.o. © 2024


Administraci zajišťuje redakční systém společnosti NETservis s.r.o.